TOWNSVILLE CITY COUNCIL
YOUR ONLINE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTRE
Service Centre Locations CALL:   1300 878 001
Retrieving Data
Skip navigation links
Your Council
Resident Information
Facilities and Recreation
Community and Events
For Business
About Townsville
Riverway lagoons 
Rivery Lagoons 

The Riverway Lagoons cover an area in size of more than three Olympic swimming pools. The lagoons are nestled among shady raintrees, with the picturesque Ross River providing a peaceful backdrop. The surrounding well established raintrees, together with the extensive overhangs of the Riverway Arts Centre roof and additional shade structures, provide a protected year-round safe swimming environment.

The two distinct lagoon areas vary in depth up to 2m. The upper lagoon is designed for more formal uses, including an area for swimming laps and specific areas for disabled and elderly access, with hand rails and suitable water levels. The lower lagoon is more relaxed and is an ideal place for the kids build sand castles and play in shallow water while the rest of the family can lounge on the timber decks in the shade.

Open Hours

Monday to Sunday (including Public Holidays                                                  

Dawn to dusk*                 

*Subject to seasons - As per Lifeguard Hours below, if Lagoons are patrolled by Lifeguards, closing time will be consistent with these hours.

Lifeguard Hours - 2014

Tuesday 28 January - Sunday 27 April Monday - Thursday
Friday - Sunday and Public Holidays
8am - 6pm
8am - 8pm
Monday 28 April - Sunday 1 June Monday - Sunday 8am - 6pm
Monday 2 June - Saturday 30 August Monday - Sunday 10am - 5pm
Sunday 31 August - Thursday 18 September Monday - Sunday 8am - 6pm
Friday 19 September - Thursday 11 December Monday - Thursday
Friday - Sunday and Public Holidays
8am - 6pm
8am - 8pm
Friday 12 December - Wednesday 31 December Monday - Sunday 8am - 9pm

The lagoon precinct provides an exciting, rich experience for first-time visitors and is a popular place with local residents.

Public amenities are located below the Riverway Arts Centre.

ABN: 44 741 992 072 © Copyright 2010 Townsville City Council All rights reserved. Townsville City Council
acknowledges the traditional owners and custodians of Townsville, the Bindal and Wulgurukaba peoples.
 TOWNSVILLE CITY COUNCIL
CLICK TO CHAT